I first read the Chronicles of Narnia nearly thirty years ago, when they were suggested to me by an older cousin who was very interested in fantasy and science fiction (That same cousin could read and speak Elvish and is listed in the credits as an advisor on Peter Jackson’s Lord of the Rings movies). They were a great read, and served as the springboard for me to other terrific fantasy novels, such as The Lord of the Rings. Recently, my ten year old finished reading Harry Potter and asked if there were any other books he could read that were like that. I remembered the Chronicles of Narnia and got him a set. He loved them.

So at his insistence, I created this site to tell other kids (and teachers and parents, for I am both) about this terrific series of books.

For parents who were uneasy about some of the themes of sorcery and other non-Christian values that permeate the Harry Potter series, The Chronicles of Narnia offer their children a fantasy well-grounded in Christian values. Author C.S. Lewis is a noted Christian writer, whose book “Mere Christianity” is considered a classic work. That said, most people read and enjoy the Chronicles of Narnia without ever noticing the Christian aspects.

The Books
(listed by internal chronological order, with date of publication noted)
1. The Magician’s Nephew (1955)
2. The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe (1950)
3. The Horse and His Boy (1954)
4. Prince Caspian (1951)
5. The Voyage of the Dawn Treader (1952)
6. The Silver Chair (1953)
7. The Last Battle (1956)

Posted by The Editor on 02/07 at 06:49 PM
News • (0) Comments and Permalink
Page 1 of 1 pages